Intelligent System Integration for the Digital Future

How do you easily, reliably, and safely integrate encoders into your systems? And can you quickly and intelligently use the position feedback and additional data from those encoders? The answers to these questions determine the performance and reliability of your automation and motor solutions. They also carry the potential for added value, giving your products the necessary edge on the market. Through ongoing development and new solutions, HEIDENHAIN is preparing the EnDat interface technology for the future of digitalization.

 What’s new with EnDat

The HMC 2 hybrid motor cable: new optical rotary encoders for the single-cable solution

The EnDat 3 digital interface: less cabling, greater possibilities

HMC 2: one cable, one connector, all of the data

The HMC 2 hybrid motor cable combines the encoder wires and power wires inside a single cable. As a result, only one cable is needed between the motor and the electrical cabinet. Standard connecting technology is used as well. Cabling is thereby reduced and more easily integrated into the machine housing.

The new HMC 2 single cable solution is designed specifically for HEIDENHAIN encoders featuring an EnDat 3 interface and purely serial data transmission. This offering is now being expanded: the already available inductive rotary encoders are being joined by the ECN 1325 and EQN 1337 optical rotary encoders. In particularly demanding automation applications, these encoders create possibilities for space-saving, cost-effective, and high-performance position measurement.

View the HMC 2 trade show flyer

EnDat in bus operation: fast, easy, and cost-effective

EnDat 3 is the ideal encoder interface for high system integration and for meeting the requirements of future digitalization. Its hallmarks are reduced system costs and the implementation of flexible machine architectures. The EnDat 3 encoder interface is also effective and easy to use in bus operation.

The benefits:

  • Reduced cabling: only four wires are needed in order to transmit data from three axes at a cycle time of 30 µs.
  • Safe and reliable operation: EnDat 3 offers functional safety and extensive diagnostic options.
  • Universal and comprehensive communication: the interface transmits position data, sensor data, system monitoring data, automatic system configuration data, and much more.
View the EnDat trade show flyer

    Would you like to learn more about the new capabilities of EnDat?  

EnDat: ready for digital manufacturing

EnDat is a bidirectional interface from HEIDENHAIN for digital drive systems and position control loops with position-feedback encoders. Since its market debut, this interface technology has become a global standard for position encoders in the machine tool, electronics, and automation industries. 

EnDat ensures fast and highly reliable data transmission, including additional data such as motor-specific parameters and sensor information. Its extensive diagnostic capabilities and the inclusion of the encoders in troubleshooting routines ensure high system reliability. 

EnDat 3 is entering the market as a new interface generation that faithfully enhances and expands upon the characteristics of the EnDat family for the digital future of industrial manufacturing. It continues the interface’s proven benefits and functionality into the future of digital manufacturing while providing an even greater range of data and features such as send lists, bus topologies, and access levels for installation. Come join the ranks of companies that have embraced EnDat interface technology.

Find out all about EnDat The EnDat users at a glance

Mit intelligenter Systemintegration in die digitale Zukunft

Wie können Sie Messgeräte einfach und sicher in Ihre Systeme integrieren? Und wie können Sie Daten der Messgeräte und Zusatzinformationen schnell und intelligent nutzen? Die Antworten bestimmen die Performance und Sicherheit Ihrer Antriebs- und Automatisierungslösungen. Und bieten Mehrwerte, die Ihren Produkten den notwendigen Vorsprung am Markt verschaffen. Mit konsequenter Weiterentwicklung und neuen Lösungen macht HEIDENHAIN die EnDat-Schnittstellentechnologie zukunftsfähig für die Digitalisierung.

Das ist neu bei EnDat

Hybridmotorkabel HMC 2: Neue optische Drehgeber für die Ein-Kabel-Lösung

Die digitale Schnittstelle EnDat 3: Weniger Verkabelungsaufwand, mehr Möglichkeiten

HMC 2: Ein Kabel, ein Stecker, alle Daten

Das Hybridmotorkabel HMC 2 vereint Messgeräte- und Leistungsadern in einem Kabel. Nur noch ein Kabel ist zwischen Motor und Schaltschrank notwendig. Die Verbindung übernimmt bewährte Standardtechnik. Das reduziert den Verkabelungsaufwand und vereinfacht die Integration des Kabels in das Maschinengehäuse.

Konzipiert ist die neue Ein-Kabel-Lösung HMC 2 speziell für HEIDENHAIN-Messgeräte mit EnDat 3-Schnittstelle und rein serieller Datenübertragung. Dieses Produktangebot wird jetzt erweitert. Zu den bekannten induktiven Drehgebern gesellen sich ab sofort auch die optischen Drehgeber ECN 1325 und EQN 1337. Sie eröffnen in äußerst anspruchsvollen Anwendungen der Automatisierung platzsparende und kostengünstige, aber hochleistungsfähige Möglichkeiten zur Positionsmessung.

Zum Messeflyer HMC 2

EnDat im Bus-Betrieb: Schnell, einfach, kostengünstig

EnDat 3 ist die optimale Messgeräteschnittstelle für eine hohe Systemintegration und die Anforderungen der digitalisierten Zukunft. Sie steht für reduzierte Systemkosten und die Realisierung flexibler Maschinenarchitekturen. So kann die Messgeräteschnittstelle EnDat 3 auch sehr einfach und effektiv im Busbetrieb genutzt werden.

Ihre Vorteile:

  • Reduzierung des Verkabelungsaufwands: Sie benötigen nur vier Adern für die Datenübertragung von drei Achsen mit einer Zykluszeit von 30 µs
  • Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit im Betrieb: EnDat 3 bietet Funktionale Sicherheit und umfassende Möglichkeiten zur Diagnose
  • Universelle und umfassende Kommunikation: Die Schnittstelle überträgt Positionsdaten, Sensordaten, Daten aus dem Systemmonitoring und zur automatischen Systeminstallation und noch viele weitere Informationen
Zum Messeflyer EnDat

    Möchten Sie mehr über die neuen EnDat-Möglichkeiten erfahren?

EnDat: Fit für die digitale Fertigung

EnDat ist die bidirektionale Schnittstelle von HEIDENHAIN für digitale Antriebssysteme und Lageregelkreise mit Positionsmessgeräten zur Messwerterfassung. Seit der Markteinführung hat sich die Schnittstellentechnologie weltweit als Standard für Positionsmessgeräte in den Bereichen Werkzeugmaschine, Elektronikindustrie und Automatisierung etabliert. EnDat gewährleistet eine schnelle Datenübertragung mit hoher Übertragungssicherheit. Darüber hinaus überträgt die serielle Schnittstelle weitere Daten wie antriebsspezifische Kennwerte, Sensorikdaten etc. Die Einbindung der Messgeräte in Routinen zur Fehlererkennung und umfassende Diagnosemöglichkeiten sorgen für eine hohe Systemsicherheit.

Mit EnDat 3 kommt eine neue Schnittstellengeneration auf den Markt, die die Eigenschaften der EnDat-Familie konsequent für die digitale Zukunft der industriellen Fertigung erweitert und weiterentwickelt. Sie überführt die bewährten Eigenschaften und Vorteile in die Zukunft einer digitalen Fertigung und bietet gegenüber den Vorgängerversionen eine nochmals verbesserte Datenbandbreite und Features wie Sendelisten, Bus-Topologien oder Zugriffsebenen bei der Installation. Nutzen auch Sie dieEnDat-Schnittstellentechnologie wie schon viele andere Unternehmen.

Alle Infos zu EnDat Die Referenzkunden auf einen Blick